A Pebble of Hope

The woods are quiet, dark, and deep…

I wander along a pathway, uncertain of my destination. I only know that I must keep going. I seem to imagine things that are not there, such as brambles and weeds that want to trip me up, when in fact, the path is clear ahead. My perceptions are skewed.

Why do I do that to myself?

The trees whisper a sweet summery song. Insects buzz all around me. I had forgotten how nature calms me. I walk slowly, savoring each step. Here, there is enough time to do all that I want to do.

I come to the Well of Forgiveness, and stand in front of it for a long while, contemplating its meaning.

I must find a way to forgive myself for my failures. I must find a way to let go. I step up to the well-cover and push it aside. I gaze down into the Well’s depths, barely making out the pool of water far below.

“Goodbye,” I say, my words echoing off the stone walls. I toss in a pebble, symbolizing the energies that I want to remove from my life. I hear it hit the water with a satisfying “PLOP!”, and I do feel lighter somehow, as if a huge burden has been lifted with this one single positive act.

I turn to face the path once more, this time buoyed by Hope.

~ by Novelista on May 25, 2007.

3 Responses to “A Pebble of Hope”

  1. Nature is healing, isn’t it?

  2. Good reading. Welcome Keri, and hope you enjoy many rambles through the Murmuring Woods!

  3. The Well of Forgiveness is place I visit often. Let it remove all negative energies.

    Bo

Leave a comment