Raven Woman

 

I name myself

Woman of Ravens

 

I am the Ferry Woman
I came back
to where the old people were
only to find
they have long gone

I am the Ferry Woman
I sit silently,
vigilant.
upon the stones
the old people placed here
long ago

I sit listening for their voices
their songs
I sit listening
but all is silent now
bar for the macaws cry
and
the eternal lapping
of water upon the shore

I am the Ferry Woman
I am Raven
I wait for the old people
to return to this place
where they promised they would
meet me
where they promised we
could all be together again.

~ by Heather Blakey on February 14, 2007.

3 Responses to “Raven Woman”

  1. The image and the words are wonderful, Heather. This picture is a credit to you, as are the words. It’s hard to find the right words to say about this special piece.

  2. I agree with Imogen, a very strong piece

  3. I agree with Imogen too. There’s a lot of strength here.

Leave a Reply

 
