Tree people

(Photo by Robin. 2006)

I’ve met a large variety of tree people in my lifetime of hikes through the woods. This fellow is one of my favorites, a guardian of the woods. Although tall, stern, and dignified in looks, he enjoys a good story or even a funny joke. If you have the time to stop, sit by his side and spin him a yarn or two.

You never know, he may return the favor.

When you enter a grove peopled with ancient trees, higher than the ordinary, and shutting out the sky with their thickly inter-twined branches, do not the stately shadows of the wood, the stillness of the place, and the awful gloom of this doomed cavern then strike you with the presence of a deity? ~ Seneca

~ by Robin on January 29, 2007.

6 Responses to “Tree people”

  1. Now I will have to rummage and think of a story to tell this ancient tree. Leave it with me 🙂

  2. What a character! He looks grumpy and grouchy on the outside but I bet he has a heart of gold (or tree-rings of gold).

  3. Charming! I’ll be he has a LOT of stories to tell!

  4. Lovely!

  5. I’d love to sit with my back against his magnificent trunk and share some tales with him. He would keep secrets, too, if I wanted to share some with him, and maybe even give me advice when I asked for it.

  6. SEED: “guardian of the woods”

    FITZ Title: I could write pages on …

    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

    on my friends the trees,
    and have, and will again;
    though there is nothing of my telling
    that cannot be known by hugging –
    and listening …

    and of such whispers
    I have learned of branches, roots and seeds
    and what they mean in actuality –

    but even more,
    enough to ask,

    “what is it that they guard?”

    . . . . . . . . . Bard of Lemuria

Leave a Reply

 
