Moon Seeds

 

If you examine the bag Enchanteur gave you, ever so carefully, you will find that she tucked some moon seeds in the bottom of your bag. You will find them with the dream seeds. Enchanteur has provided these so that  when you reached the Murmuring Woods you will have something to trade with the Angry Pixie.

 

The Angry Pixie is from the Faraway Tree and has taken it upon himself to be a guardian of these Enchanted Woods. Note that the Pixie checks these illuminated seeds carefully, rolls them over and notes their size.  They are precious to the people of the woods and are often used for self adornment.

 

In return for the moon seeds the Pixie will guide you to the cottage of Baba Yaga, the old crone who is said to be the keeper of wisdom in these parts. It would be wise to hold your tongue and make no mention of the doll guide who is tucked in the folds of your cape. It is never a good idea to reveal too much to the Angry Pixie.

 

~ by Heather Blakey on January 15, 2007.

6 Responses to “Moon Seeds”

  1. Enchanteur and the Pixie are looking amazing, Heather. Fabulous image.

  2. SEED: “precious to the people of the woods”

    FITZ Title: Doing as you say – sort of …
    as I am of the falcon, and therby Anteaos –
    by right of the eyes of sun and moon.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

    I will offer these Pixie a choice,
    as I would any bound in anger:

    the Moon Seeds of their pretentions,
    or Moon Tears of portention.

    and with the choosing I will draw down
    the filiments of Mistress gown
    that they might swaddle fears
    and find peace again …

    and the Mood Seeds barter
    another’s faire passing.

    . . . . . . . . . . . Bard of Lemuria

  3. Wonderful pictue. I’m looking forward to meeting Baba Yaga again.

  4. I rummaged around in my bag and was at first unable to find the moon seeds. I was afraid I’d lost them, but here they are, at the very bottom. I pick out the best of the lot and offer them to the Angry Pixie, looking forward to, yet a little nervous about, meeting Baba Yaga.

  5. Really, that Pixie is rude. She snatched the best moon seed from my hand, and I think she took my Pixie/English dictionary as well. It’s missing. But she did seem to know where Baba Yaga lives. Robin, is that you ahead of me? I’d be less fearful if I knew it is you, and not one of the Deadwood Brothers.

  6. Moonseeds, Moonstones. I think Enchanteur left me a moon rock instead, or is there a Dark One here? Hope that darn Pixie has misplaced her magnifying glass. And I wish we were walking in twosies. These woods are as dark as the insides of a cave. And the wind is picking up. It’s rustling the leaves so much , I c- c- can’t hear my own footsteps. I wonder what else I can’t hear.
    Barbara

Leave a Reply

 
