Owl Calling

I rise in darkness to owl calling
Its message gentle but persistent
Urges me to unfold my mighty wings
And soar silently through the trees

Cloaked in darkness, I cast my vision inward
Seeing clearly my dream
Then pivot my neck to gain my bearing
On the outer
Taking inspired flight toward my destination

I leave behind all perception of custom
And glance heartward for guidance
Golden eyes gleaming and breath full

~ by Anne on January 12, 2007.

8 Responses to “Owl Calling”

  1. Beautiful poetry.

  2. Lovely. Simply lovely. One of the things I miss about home right now is the owl that lives in our woods. Thank you for bring him back to me, in a manner of speaking.

  3. This poem is full of wonderfull allegory. its just beautifull Anne!

  4. SEED: “glance heartward for guidance”

    FITZ Title: silent wings of knowing

    . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

    your owl is wise indeed
    to know that even keen eyes
    cannot see what the heart does not allow –

    nor can our spirit whisper of things unseeable,
    save that which heart can bear …

    some say the soul is the place of balance
    ‘tween mind and spirt; which may be so –
    but heart is the searcher,

    . . . . . . . . . . . Bard of Lemuria

  5. I too have an urge to unfold my mighty wings. Taking flight on the thermal currents of cyber space brings such joy. Thanks Anne! This is a beautiful carving.

  6. Owls fly so silently. It is surely a message.

  7. What a beautiful description of soaring free and being able to look within oneself for guidance. Thanks for sharing.

  8. To be in the darkness and then rise above it- Macabre as I am I really enjoy this image.

    It’s very freeing.

    Anita Marie

Leave a Reply

 
