FAIRY REVELS

After dinner at Taverna di Muse, I returned to Riversleigh Manor to prepare for the next festivity. I put the guitar case back in the walk-in closet. (I wouldn’t need it in the woods.  I expected to be busy dancing with the nymphs or perhaps a handsome faun? Who knows?)  I was really looking forward to wearing the new dress I had chosen especially for this night.  A green silk dream-er, gown. Full-length, with layers, as sheer a dress as I dared. I felt like I was wearing leaves, the way the pale green layers swirled as I moved. Something new. And the something old but so appropriate! A fringed green shawl. Silhouettes of mushrooms, fairies, grass, a tree and an Elvish piper were in the center. The border of the shawl was decorated with silhouettes of winged fairies. Highlights of golden yellow mingled with the green. For years I had kept the shawl on a wall in my bedroom. Something lovely to look at before going to bed or when waking in the morning. But tonight, it was going to be a dance partner! One more thing to do before leaving. (Pun not intended.) I collected my culinary creations (thanks again to Regina for allowing me to make a little mess in her kitchen in the afternoon) and headed out to the woods. For a second, I wondered about asking for a flashlight but I had been informed such an implement would not be necessary. Indeed it was not. The path was glowing and twinkling with tiny fairy lights.
Follow the pretty lights, follow the pretty lights… I said Good Evening to some of the trees as I passed by. I recognized them, even in the dark, from my first walk in the woods. Their size or scent identified them. I was tempted to take a few minutes to visit the old boab tree again, but I was too eager to join the party. What a sight greeted me as I came to the glade! It was a fairy ring!  Around the perimeter, carefully-tended bonfires roared in full strength, giving the  atmosphere a reddish tinge. The fires burned cleanly, no smell of smoke in the air. Many people were gathered in an area off to the right. By the number of them and their behavior I suspected that was the location of the food. I couldn’t see any tables. Just a tight cluster of people. To the left side of the circle were candle-lit tables, with chairs. A few people, apparently deep in conversation, sat at the tables. Ahead of me, in the center of the glade, was a large grassy area marked off by a circle of snow-white rocks. Obviously “the dance floor.”  ?? An odd sparkle caught my eye. I moved closer to investigate. No, definitely not rocks! Large quartz crystals! Every one of them. Oh, boy! Talk about an energy magnifier! Then I turned and walked over to the cluster of people. Yes, folks were arranging the culinary offerings. I spotted Lady Riversleigh at one end. She seemed to be in charge at the moment.
“Lady Sibyl!” I called to her.
She paused to look at me.
“Dessert!” I raised the covered container I had been carrying. “Fairy cakes!”  I announced.
She responded with a delighted grin and waved to the right. “Wonderful! Over there!”
I maneuvered my way around to that spot, where a woman took my dish and found a place for it. Then she smiled at me and said, “Welcome! The revels are about to begin.”

To hear a little of the music:
http://www.amazon.com/o/ASIN/B000005P1O/ref=s9_asin_title_1/104-7728249-6072762

THE FAIRY RING by Mike Rowland. One of my favorites. I’ve been listening to this for over 10 years. Enjoy!

FAIRY CAKE RECIPES

Go first to http://becksposhnosh.blogspot.com/2006/05/fairy-easy-fairy-cake-recipe.html

(I saved a copy of this page so if the link is ever broken…)

Cooks.com – Recipe – Fairy Cakes
Recipe #1 on their list.                      

FAIRY CAKES

1 c. raisins (golden)
1 tsp. of each (or to taste); cinnamon and nutmeg
1 tbsp. vanilla flavoring
1 c. of flour
1/2 c. unsalted butter
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 c. sugar
1 egg
1/2 c. milk (whole or low-fat)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 9 inch square pan or cake pan (round). Mix flour, baking powder and spices, cream butter and add to flour mixture, add sugar, vanilla and raisins. Beat eggs and milk. Add to mixture, blend lightly. Spoon into pan, bake for 25 minutes or until knife comes out clean. If made in cake round, cake will be only about 2 to 3 inches high & moist and heavy. Serve warm if you prefer. Also great with powdered sugar on top. Serve with pot of cinnamon spice tea.

Cooks.com – Recipe – Fairy Cake
Recipe#2 on their list.
    
FAIRY CAKE

1/2 c. butter
3/4 c. sugar
6 egg yolks
1/4 c. milk
3/4 c. + 2 tbsp. flour
1/2 tsp. vanilla
2 pkgs. Dream Whip

Mix ingredients and spread in 2 (9″) pans. Whip 6 egg whites; gradually add 1 cup sugar (make sure there are no crystals). Spread over raw batter and sprinkle 1 cup chopped nuts (& cherries if desired) over it. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes. Cool and remove from pan. Put on cake plate. Make sure meringue stays on top. When completely cool put 2 packages of Dream Whip between layers and on top. (May also put peaches or preserves on it.)

P.S. I did meet a handsome faun. But that is another story.

Cheshire

~ by cheshire7 on January 7, 2007.

3 Responses to “FAIRY REVELS”

  1. What a feel good way to close my morning Dawn. I have never heard Mike Rowlands work and it is charming, but I do love and have often made fairy cakes, with cream and little butterfly wings, all dusted with icing sugar.

    Thanks for sending us to such delightful places.

  2. What a wonderful journey through this post! Yum to the cakes, especially with cream, Sibyl! Loved the shawl, Dawn, and the little rows of fairy lights along the path. Magical.

  3. Oh delicious! We sprinkle our cakes with hundreds and thousands, those brightly coloured speckles.

Leave a Reply

 
