Echoes in Time

Writers write because we have to. If we keep journals, we don’t get paid to write, but we have no choice. Write we must. There is so much in life to put to paper–even if the paper is fragile and the thoughts on it float  and disappear into the great Murmuring Woods.
A few days ago I wrote about fear and the potential for growth it brings along with it. This morning I opened my email and found:

Last night as I was sleeping,
I dreamt—marvelous error!—
that I had a beehive
here inside my heart.
And the golden bees
were making white combs
and sweet honey
from my old failures.
——-Antonio Machado

And then I understood why writers write. Because other writers write us back. Because it helps us understand the shifting ground under out feet. Because it helps us understand, when we have been to two funerals in one week, that death flows back into life; that mistakes help us grow, and that sometimes, even when we have not screamed first, an echo rolls back to our feet.

–Inkspirit

~ by QuinnCreative on January 6, 2007.

10 Responses to “Echoes in Time”

  1. How beautifull! When I first read Walt Whitman, i was stunned to feel as if his poems were directed towards me in an intimate and conversational tone. Even though Whitman is dead, I still respond to his work and words in my own writing. “And then I understood why writers write. Because other writers write us back.” What a beautifull and simple truth you have discovered. We read to listen and write to speak. Thank you for this peice.

  2. a Fitz then …

    SEED: “even when we have not screamed first,
    an echo rolls back to our feet.”

    The future can but do
    what memory commands.
    as surely as the morning mist
    flows back to the rebirth sea.

    If you must scream,
    than rant and rave it injustice past –
    finding thereby a capacity and potential
    that will leap as lightning
    to fore-give tommorrow
    while this day will echo
    ‘tween the walls of yearning.

  3. What an astonishing dream. I could illustrate that. Last night I dreamed of being on a marathon trek again and was struggling to finish. Not surprising given what rugged days we have been having with the heat complicating Darryl’s condition.

  4. Thank you for introducing a new poet to me. This is absolutely beautiful. And you are so correct. In retrospect, I never felt like I was writing– that I was truly a writer– until I started posting here and actually got feedback from other artists and writers.

  5. I loved this. The perennial yin and yang curling around us forever. Loved the imagery in the poetry too, bees are humming through the woods, in the bases of trees…

  6. So true.

  7. Lovely words! th eimages that are conjured are wonderful. Thank you.
    Dijanne

  8. I love the ideas in this post, they are delicious and sustaining. Thank you!

  9. Writers write because it is as essential as breathing, if we lack an outlet for our creative talents we wither and die, even so before our bodies give out.

  10. I really like this! It expresses what I have sometimes felt but have not often discussed with others. Two sentences here struck my heart “…even when we have not screamed first, an echo rolls back to our feet” and “We read to listen and write to speak.” I’m going to have to meditate upon them and do some writing. This sharing and so much of what I have seen at Soul Food Cafe is to me–like being at a deep pool of water where something has been offered to the creative spirit (put into the water) and I am noting the ripples that travel thru the pond because of the offering. As part of my offering today I would like to include a quote I posted at my site.

    “Everyone is a writer. You are a writer. All over the world, in every culture, human beings have carved into stone, written on parchment, birch bark, or scraps of paper, & sealed into letters–their words. Those who do not write stories and poems on solid surfaces tell them, sing them, and in so doing, write them on the air. Creating with words is our continuing passion. We dream stories, we make up stories, poems, songs and tell them to ourselves.

    Our words, our truth, our imagining, our dreaming may be the best gifts we have to give.”

    from “Writing Alone & With Others” by Pat Schneider

Leave a Reply

 
