Queen Mab

 

O, then, I see Queen Mab hath been with you.
She is the fairies’ midwife, and she comes
In shape no bigger than an agate-stone (60)
On the fore-finger of an alderman,
Drawn with a team of little atomies
Athwart men’s noses as they lie asleep;
Her wagon-spokes made of long spiders’ legs,
The cover of the wings of grasshoppers, (65)
The traces of the smallest spider’s web,
The collars of the moonshine’s watery beams,
Her whip of cricket’s bone, the lash of film,
Her wagoner a small grey-coated gnat,
Not so big as a round little worm (70)
Prick’d from the lazy finger of a maid;
Her chariot is an empty hazel-nut
Made by the joiner squirrel or old grub,
Time out o’ mind the fairies’ coachmakers.
And in this state she gallops night by night… (1.4.58-100)

~ by Heather Blakey on January 9, 2007.

13 Responses to “Queen Mab”

  1. Those eyes are something else again Heather.
    Chilling, creepy, macabre
    I LOVE IT!

    Anita Marie

  2. I love your drawings, Heather. Anita Marie is right — there’s something in the eyes. Queen Mab, indeed.

  3. Absolutely gorgeous. The woods wouldn’t be the same without her.

  4. Those wings! I can hear them rattle in disapproval or flutter in glee. What a picture!

  5. You have captured the queen’s majesty!

  6. It’s the eyes and nails! Brown indeed!The woods are smokey over this way.
    Dijanne

  7. Hey thanks everyone. I am very happy with her and the colours just blended perfectly. Darryl remarked on the pooh brown cardy and I rolled my eyes and gave a long slow duh!!!! “She is the colour of the earth, grass and leaves” I told him. However, he did add that this is one of my best drawings. That saved him from a beating. :-)

  8. she’s wearing a mean pair of shoes too. One should be careful not to let her stand behind you just in case she kicks out …

  9. Hah! Eye for detail Carol. I wouldn’t mess with this Queen. Those stiletto’s are dynamite.

  10. Darryl is right. This is the best yet!! Truely stupendous!! (I gotta get a Thesaurus!!!)

  11. Hi, i’m doing an art project at the moment which is based on illustration, i’m illustrating the Queen Mab speech in Romeo and Juliet and i came across your drawing, which i must say is very good, if you have any ideas on what i could do please leave me a message, thanks

  12. Thanks for your help and ideas …i admire your work very much

  13. I like this – Mab seems to say, “Mess with me at your own risk.” And she means it! I really don’t like the sickly-sweet fairies – give me Mab!
    Kerzza, proud to be pixie-led

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

